The Racial Justice Commission is examining the City’s foundations to identify structures and systems that by design, implementation, or impact enable and perpetuate inequitable power, access, and opportunity.

Racial Justice Commission Members

Jennifer Jones Austin, Chair
CEO and Executive Director, FPWA

Henry Garrido, Vice-Chair
Executive Director, DC 37 AFSCME

K. Bain
Founder and Executive Director, Community Capacity Development

Ana M. Bermúdez
Commissioner, NYC Department of Probation

Rev. Frederick Davie
Executive Vice President, Union Theological Seminary and Chair, Civilian Complaint Review Board (CCRB)

Lurie Daniel Favors
Executive Director, Center for Law and Social Justice at Medgar Evers College

Darrick Hamilton
Founding Director, Institute on Race, Power and Political Economy at The New School and Henry Cohen Professor of Economics and Urban Policy

Christopher Kui
President, RISE NOW Inc., and Former Executive Director, Asian Americans for Equality

Yesenia Mata
Executive Director, La Colmena

J. Phillip Thompson
Former Deputy Mayor for Strategic Policy Initiatives

Jo-Ann Yoo
Executive Director, Asian American Federation


Present and past staff of the Racial Justice Commission.

Harold Miller
Executive Director

Anusha Venkataraman
Emeritus Executive Director

Melanie Ash
General Counsel

Erin Berry
Deputy General Counsel

Bianca Isaias
Associate General Counsel

Rachel Cato
Chief of Operations

Tashawn Morgan
Deputy Chief of Staff

Jimmy Pan
Policy Director and Special Counsel

Sam Stanton
Senior Policy Advisor and Legal Counsel

Eden Mulate
Policy Advisor

Jacqueline Kennedy
Public Engagement Director

Chi Nguyễn
Senior Advisor

Steph Halpin
Communications Director

Davina Lee

Kapil Longani
Senior Advisor to the Racial Justice Commission